4 STARS MICHELIN

Dupont & Byrne

Talent, will, complicity, sharing, passion, taste, good humour… We could go on and on describing Gilles Dupont and Thomas Byrne, the two starred Chefs whose bond and “savoir-faire” continuously grow since the opening of the restaurant in 1996.

A 4-HAND CUISINE

Sharing an art

Both artists and artisans, Dupont & Byrne are completely different, yet they are complementary.

The lively kitchens of the Auberge du Lion d’Or are a result of their assertive characters and their good relationship: good mood always prevails. The establishment has become a renowned restaurant thanks to their “savoir-faire”, and is also a reference on the Relais & Châteaux website.

Always in the spirit of cooperation and sharing, the two leaders invent, experiment and improve. Together they choose their ingredients and harmonize the flavours to compose a high-wire cuisine.

Together, they practice a unique gastronomic art.

LE BON VIVANT

Gilles Dupont

The gift of gab, always a spark in the eyes, Gilles Dupont likes people. He draws his knowledge from his travels and his insatiable curiosity, and incorporates them touch by touch in a high quality cuisine.

Gilles Dupont is also a talented painter, and we find in his dishes a delicate sense of aesthetics: a beautiful harmony of colours and a skilful presentation. The pleasure is not only for the eyes, it is for the palate too, and this union of the senses raises gastronomy to an art form.

His talent as a chef was immediately recognized, and led him to contribute to the reputation of prestigious institutions.

As of now, he runs his own restaurant, his very institution, alongside his most faithful friend.

THE MUSIC LOVER

Thomas Byrne

Thomas Byrne followed a more traditional path within some of the most distinguished establishment, and likes to think of cuisine as an ephemeral art. A Chef with the soul of a poet, he has the reserved nature of a dreamer and yet, he is very thorough.

As music lover and opera singer, he composes in very much the same way and with the same passion than the greatest composers their music, and even after 40 years, still takes the same pleasure in creating surprising and nostalgic symphonies of flavours.

In the kitchen, the joviality of the Irish chef is contagious: his dream of opening a restaurant with his great friend has come true. If you listen carefully, in the small window of time when the kitchens open to let the waiter pass, you may hear him sing and laugh.

For Thomas Byrne, cooking is a pleasure, quite simply.

4 ÉTOILES MICHELIN

Dupont & Byrne

Le talent, l’envie, la complicité, le partage, la passion, le goût, la bonne humeur… Beaucoup de choses définissent Gilles Dupont et Thomas Byrne, ce duo de chefs étoilés dont le lien et le savoir-faire se renforcent jour après jour depuis qu’ils ont repris l’Auberge du Lion d’Or, en 1996.

UNE CUISINE À 4 MAINS

Le partage d’un art

À la fois artistes et artisans, Dupont & Byrne sont aussi différents que complémentaires.

Leurs caractères affirmés et leur bonne entente permanente animent les cuisines de l’Auberge du Lion d’Or, où règne une véritable bonne humeur tout au long du service. Leur savoir-faire a transformé l’établissement en restaurant de renom, qui est d’ailleurs une référence sur le site Relais & Châteaux.

Dans un perpétuel esprit d’échange et de partage, les deux chefs inventent, expérimentent, améliorent. Ensemble, ils choisissent leurs ingrédients, harmonisent les saveurs, composent une cuisine de haute voltige. Ensemble, ils se soucient du palais et du bien-être de leurs hôtes.

Ensemble, ils pratiquent un art gastronomique unique.

LE BON VIVANT

Gilles Dupont

L’œil rieur et la parole facile, Gilles Dupont aime les rencontres. Il puise ses nombreuses connaissances de ses voyages et de son insatiable curiosité, et il les incorpore touche par touche dans une cuisine de grande qualité.

Gilles Dupont est un peintre averti. On retrouve dans ses plats un délicat sens de l’esthétisme, une harmonie des couleurs, une présentation savamment travaillée. Et au plaisir des yeux s’ajoute le plaisir gustatif ; un mélange des sens qui élève la gastronomie au rang d’art.

Grâce à ses précieux talents de grand chef, Gilles Dupont a contribué à la réputation d’établissements prestigieux. Désormais, il mène son propre restaurant, son institution même, aux côtés de son plus fidèle ami.

LE MÉLOMANE

Thomas Byrne

De formation classique au sein d’établissements de renom, Thomas Byrne se plaît à qualifier la cuisine d’art éphémère. Il a une âme d’artiste poète, un peu rêveur, discret et rigoureux.

Mélomane et chanteur lyrique, il parle de la cuisine avec la même passion qu’un compositeur parle de la musique. Après 40 années de métier, il prend toujours autant de plaisir à créer des symphonies de saveurs pour des plats surprenants et nostalgiques.

En cuisine, la jovialité de l’irlandais est contagieuse. L’Auberge du Lion d’Or est un rêve d’enfant qu’il a concrétisé aux côtés de son grand ami, et il ne se défait jamais de son sourire sincère.

Pour Thomas Byrne, la cuisine est un bonheur, tout simplement.